Sunday, September 11, 2011

The Way of Perfection Reading Schedule Fall 2011-Spring 2012

The other book we are studying this year is The Way of Perfection by St. Teresa of Avila.

St. Teresa of Avila is an unsurpassed teacher of Christian prayer and spirituality. In The Way of Perfection, St. Teresa gives practical counsels and advice on prayer, destined originally for the few nuns who embraced the reformed Carmelite life she established. As a handbook for spiritual formation, it presented them with the basic Christian spirituality undergirding their Constitutions and Rule. More and more today, Teresa's instructions speak to all those interested in prayer, providing them with basic guidelines for praying and showing how to avoid potential pitfalls.
  • Oct. 19 Intro; Prologue; Chapter 1
  • Nov. 9 Chapters 2-7
  • Dec. 14 Chapters 8-12
  • Jan. 18 Chapters 13-18
  • Feb. 8 Chapters 19-23
  • Mar. 21 Chapters 24-30
  • Apr. 18 Chapters 31-35
  • May 16 Chapters 36-42